For a number of years, Louisiana State University in Shreveport has been interested in a presence in downtown Shreveport. As of Wednesday, they have one. The LSU Foundation accepted the donation of the Spring Street Museum at 525 Spring Street and has now turned the museum over to LSUS for use. LSUS will continue to operate the museum, but plans to use the building as a hub of student activity, integrating learning and coursework of
multiple majors. Dr. Cheryl White, Associate Professor of History, will be working closely with museum staff during and after the transition. This fall, the university will begin operating new academic programs through the museum, including internships for history students and a digital arts class using the museum’s collection. Down the road is the creation of a certificate program in museum studies. Faculty and community advisory boards will help develop these programs.
The museum is unique in two ways- it is the only local facility that tells the complete history of our region and it occupies a building which very well could be the oldest in Shreveport (circa 1866). It also has a marvelously storied past that includes uses as everything from banks to bars. The museum’s large collection of artifacts includes vintage clothing dated from 1835, antique toys, swords, photographs, antique maps and more. The transition came when the Colonial Dames of Louisiana, the former owner of the museum, identified LSUS as an entity that would be committed to retaining the museum and adding to the opportunities for education there. From where we stand, the museum and LSUS are a great match, and we are thrilled to welcome the school, the faculty and students to downtown Shreveport!
Museum hours and staff will remain the same. Hours are: Tues.- Sat. 10 am- 4 pm. Admission is free, but donations are always accepted and welcome. Contact the museum if you would like to arrange a special group tour.